Challenge accepted! the language freak summer challenge

24. Juni 2013 § 2 Kommentare

Irrelevant scribble challenges its readers to participate in the language freak summer challenge – and I’m going to participate!

As already mentioned here, I read a book in Russian during the bout-a-book-read-a-thon and was that impressed with my formerly very much (and still a little bit) doubted skill that I decided to read more foreign language books with increasing difficulty levels.

Speaking of levels, the challenge actually has some too. I’m aiming for intermediate, which means I’m going to read at least two books in the language of my choice.
My mother tongue is German (obviously most of my content is in German). I’m fairly fluent in English (I’ll probably have a hundred mistakes in this posts therefore proving the former statement wrong) and on an intermediate level in Russian. I even speak a tiny tiny bit Croatian.
So this is what I’m aiming for:

  • to read 2 books in Russian (adapted editions, since I’m not ready yet for „War and Peace“ in its full glory) – an absolute must
  • to read that 1 bilingual (Croatian/German) edition of some novel I have lying around in my room somewhere – optional
  • Bonus level: watch at least 2 Russian movies with English, Russian or German subtitles – again an absolute must

As soon I have decided on (aka bought) the books I’m going to read in Russian, I’ll post and update – so stay tuned.
I had planned to work on my Russian during the summer anyway, so this comes in handy. If you had similar plans or were looking for motivation to get a grip on a language you had learned years before again, I highly recommend doing the same! Have fun!

Tagged:, ,

§ 2 Antworten auf Challenge accepted! the language freak summer challenge

  • Ekaterina sagt:

    Welcome to the challenge! I’m so excited to have another Russian learner here (Russian is my mother-tongue!) Please don’t hesitate to ask me if you need some help with finding books/movies or if you want some recommendations! 🙂

    • Juleschka sagt:

      Thanks for checking back! I’ll probably come back to you for recommendations about were to find Russian movies with subtitles. I already am very excited about the challenge and can’t wait for July 1st to come. Thanks for hosting this splendid challenge 🙂

Kommentar verfassen

Was ist das?

Du liest momentan Challenge accepted! the language freak summer challenge auf Buchlogbuch.

Meta

