The Language Freak Summer Challenge Wrap Up

8. September 2013 § 4 Kommentare

4dc6c-language_freak_button_newI joined the challenge a bit later than most of the participants – not that I noticed any of it, since our lovely host Ekaterina made me feel welcome instantly! She supported us participants with regular updates on her blog about our progresses and I’m very happy to have found in her a native Russian speaker, who’d read my Russian posts and encourage me to go on.

I also had the chance to read a few posts in German written by non-native speakers and help them out. It gave me such a happy feeling of being useful. I already saw, that Ekaterina deservedly got lots of positive feedback so I’d say it was an all around big success 🙂

I went in to the challenge with big ambitions. To re-cap: I wrote a post about the movie “Kukushka”, which was a very touching story about three people drawn together in a deserted area by war, trying to communicate in three different languages. My second attempt of writing a Russian post was about Anna Achmatovas sorrowful poems in her collection “Requiem”.

I didn’t meet all of my aims, since I really wanted to review at least another movie and at least another book. I’m planning on doing it regardless during September since it was that much fun 🙂

I had a lot of headaches and a lot of fun. Thank you, Ekaterina, for hosting such a wonderful challenge!

Finally I want to hint at italki.com, which is a website where a whole lot of language students post entries in the language they are learning and correct entries in their native language of fellow students – it’s very much like what happened through out this challenge and might be a motivation for bloggers to keep up their foreign language studies.

Tagged:,

§ 4 Antworten auf The Language Freak Summer Challenge Wrap Up

  • Ekaterina sagt:

    Thanks a lot for your kind words, Juleschka! I’m glad you liked the challenge and I must especially thank you for your invaluable help to German-reviewers! Hope to see you next year!

    Your wrap-up is linked to the Finish Line post now.

    I’ve heard about italki.com, but somehow I’ve never used it, I don’t know why… Maybe I’m too shy to share my writing with unknown people? But I’ll remember to give it a try next time I need to proofread something!

    • Juleschka sagt:

      I tried italki out and I really can recommend it. There is always someone nice to correct your text and they usually give you lots of positive feedback to cheer you on too. There is defenitely no reason to be shy 🙂

      • Ekaterina sagt:

        OK, I’ll try not to be shy and check something there next time I write a review in some difficult language 🙂 I’m not sure I’ll do this without the challenge though, so it may not be until next summer 🙂

        P.S. I’m sorry for multiple comments, I’m having issues with WP comments recently, they just don’t appear…

  • Amy sagt:

    Thanks for the italki tip, Juleschka. It looks like a great resource.

Kommentar verfassen

Was ist das?

Du liest momentan The Language Freak Summer Challenge Wrap Up auf Buchlogbuch.

Meta

